Sunday, August 30, 2015

Friday, August 28, 2015

Monday, August 24, 2015

Friday, August 21, 2015

Russia wants the remains of Rachmaninoff returned

Russia didn't want Rachmaninoff's remains in 1943. The only reason the country is expressing an interest in his remains now is because he is now widely considered one of the most accessible romantic composers, and one of the greatest composers for the piano of any style. And perhaps more importantly, Rachmaninoff didn't want to return to Russia, both in life and in death.
Rachmaninoff wanted to be buried at his estate in Switzerland, the Villa Senar. And he would have been, had it not been for the fallout from World War II at the time. Arguably Switzerland has a right to his remains, provided they are buried at the Villa Senar, otherwise they ought to remain exactly where they are, in New York.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Bay Concourse, Union Station

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Friday, August 07, 2015

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Suddenly I want a Coke

Tuesday, August 04, 2015


Eight suitcases full of ivory seized at Zurich airport